North Carolina Eastern Municipal Power Agency (NCEMPA)NCEMPA Map

NCEMPA consists of 32 cities and towns in eastern North Carolina, including some of the largest cities in the region, that own and operate their electric systems. NCEMPA was formed in 1982 and provides wholesale power to its 32 participants.


NCEMPA is governed by a Board of Commissioners (BOC), which consists of 14 members elected from throughout North Carolina. Each participant appoints a Commissioner and an Alternate Commissioner to the Board. The BOC meets at least three times a year. The ElectriCities Board of Directors (BOD) provides oversight of NCEMPA operations.

ElectriCities Logo Reliable Electricity. Excellent Local Customer Service. Prompt Restoration.
That's the Public Power Advantage.